New student requests FAQs

Below find some answers to frequently asked questions about new student requests.

 

Can I decline a new student request?

How quickly do I need to respond to student messages?

What happens if a student request expires?

If I decline a student and then change my mind, what can I do?

Why did a student's request disappear in less than 24 hours?

 

Can I decline a new student request?

 

Tutors listed on Wyzant have the discretion to decline any student’s request. As a tutor on Wyzant, you work only with the students you choose.

When you receive a new student request through your profile, you will be given the option to decline the request. Selecting “[No] Let the Student Know” will notify the student letting them know that you are not available to assist them. This message will include suggestions for other tutors that may be a good fit for the student’s needs.

Back to top.

How quickly do I need to respond to student messages?

 

It’s important that you respond quickly to new student requests, even if it is to tell a student you can’t help them. Your response rate affects your ranking in student search results. Your response rate is included on your Dashboard to make it easy for you to keep track.

Our app makes it easy to see new student messages right away and respond quickly. It’s available for both Android and iPhone. Learn more.

Back to top.

What happens if a student request expires?

 

Student requests expire 24 hours after they are sent. The student will receive an auto-generated email letting them know of other tutors that are available to help them. You can still respond to the student using the search feature at the top of the page. 

If you are unable to find a student in your Message history, there may be an issue with their account

Please keep in mind that if you do not respond to a student’s inquiry within 24 hours your Response Rate will be affected, which may impact your search placement. Replying “No” to a student’s inquiry has no effect on your Response Rate or search placement. If a student's account was closed before you were able to respond, their request will be removed from your response statistics within 24 hours. 

Back to top.

If I decline a student and then change my mind, what can I do?

 

Don't worry! If you previously declined a new student request, you still have the ability to connect with the student. All declined student requests are hidden from view but stay in your records. 

Simply enter the student's first name into the search field at the top of your Messages page and click the name of the student in your list to view their initial request within your conversation thread. You now can reply to declined requests as you would normally. 

iOS:

Click Messages and search for the student's first name in the field at the top of your screen. Select the student's message, and reply by typing your message in the empty field at the bottom, then click the icon to send. 

Android:

Tap the three-bar menu icon in the top left corner of the screen and select "Messages." Tap the search icon in the top right corner. Type in the student's first name and click on their name to view their previous request. Respond as you normally would.

Back to top.

Why did a student's request disappear in less than 24 hours?

 

If you received a request from a student and it disappeared in less than 24 hours, the request might have been illegitimate. You might have also been sent an email from the Wyzant team notifying you that the request was not valid. In these cases, your response time is not affected, and, in turn, does not affect your overall search ranking.

Another reason a student’s request might disappear from your Messages is a problem with the email the student has included in their account that prevents email from Wyzant from being delivered. Such issues include typos in the email address, or a student accidentally marking email from Wyzant as spam. In most cases regarding email issues, we won’t be able to reach out to the student; however, the student will be notified the next time they log into their account that they need to update their email address.

Back to top.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

Article is closed for comments.